Kimber Talk Forums banner

New member from Upstate NY.

2K views 18 replies 18 participants last post by  Bisquitlips 
#1 ·
Hey guys new here from upstate NY. I have the Micro Carry. I am also brand new to handguns and any advice is appreciated.

#2 ·
Welcome to KT.

Once you are familiar with the rules of gun safety and the operation of your micro, the only advice I can offer is to shoot, shoot a lot, I mean shoot a whole lot. Eventually, you'll be good at it. Along the way you'll have lots of fun.

#7 ·
Welcome to the Forum from Middle Tennessee. Mircro Carry...clean well...oil some, preload some magazines, let them sit, go to range, insert mag., pull slide back, put some oil in there, release slide, fire.

#9 ·
Welcome to the forum from northern Illinois. Keep the gun clean, well lubed and stick with 95 - 100 gr. fmj ammo until it's broken in.

#16 ·
Welcome! New around here myself but I can tell you based on my experience so far, this is one great community of like-minded folks. An abundance of information and most important a learning tool. Enjoy and when you get the hang of things, share.

#17 · (Edited)
Hey Here!! (It's a Southern Thing!!!)

Welcome to KT from beautiful downtown Monroe, Georgia!!!
Building Sky Fence Wood Siding

Congrats on the new Micro Carry. Those are nice concealed carry pistols. Please read and follow Kimber recommendations for safety, ammo and initial cleaning and lubing prior to your first range session. Once you are up to date on all that stuff, make sure your pistol is unloaded (physically and visually check), leave all ammo in another room and then put in some dry firing practice. This does more for creating good trigger control than any other exercise. Remember to align your sight on your target, a deep breath, then exhale about half of it and then slowly squeeze the trigger. It creates muscle memory without have to deal with muzzle blast or recoil. Muscles have long memories so this is a great workout!!