9mm Handloading Question - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Kimber Forum Discussions > The Ammo Can

Like Tree26Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2019, 03:05 PM   #1

9mm Handloading Question

I've been handloading since returning to "the world" in 1968. Precision rifle, revolvers, auto's and shotgun. I'm currently set up with a Dillon RL550 for loading .45 ACP and have a conversion for 9mm on the way.

My question is as I'm new to loading 9mm, where's the best source for "range bullets", 115gr and 124gr FMJ's?

What 'standard' powder is best for this purpose? I've got over 125 lbs. of rifle and pistol powder on hand, so probably have the right stuff already, just looking for high volume shooters to share their recipe.....WW231?

Thanks for some guidance.
Rick in Oregon is online now   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 03-17-2019, 03:17 PM   #2

Can't really speak to 9mm but I have found WW231 good for just about any non-magnum handgun round. I've used it for thousands of .45 and .38 loads.

With current prices of bullets, primers and powder (+ the time) … I prefer to just buy 9mm rounds in bulk. I'm sure there are guys here with plenty of pet loads for them.

Last edited by PaulWVa; 03-17-2019 at 04:37 PM.
PaulWVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 04:24 PM   #3

I like Xtreme Bullets and Bullseye.

YMMV.
Rick in Oregon likes this.

Old 03-18-2019, 05:14 AM   #4

Acme bullet comp. 124 grain cast and 4.6 grains unique is my go-to metal ringer. Paul is 100 percent correct on the bulk 9mm being cheaper than reloading right now..
Old 03-18-2019, 07:01 AM   #5

I'll go farther. I think 'bulk ammunition' is better than personal reloading for a number of reasons.

The best reason is cost. I quit reloading because even with range scrounged brass, I still had to buy some brass as recycling had an attrition rate, and primers and powder were continually needing to be replaced.