Kimber Custom II vs Colt Mk IV Series 70 (new version) - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Kimber Model Specific > Kimber 1911 Forum

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2014, 10:12 PM  

Kimber Custom II vs Colt Mk IV Series 70 (new version)

I stopped by the gun store the other day, intent on picking up a new 1911. Actually, I was thinking of getting a Kimber Custom II, because I have some fancy grips that are looking for a new home.

I also looked at a Para 1911, but I was extremely disappointed in the qualiy. The trigger rattled around and it just didn't seem like a Kimber.

Then the owner told me to hold off, because he has a couple of Colt Series 70 pistols coming in- the new versions. So I held off for now.

I'm still thinking of the Kimber though. I'm wondering if the Colt is even worth the money. I do like the high polished blue though.

What would you guys do?
Old 03-10-2014, 10:26 PM  
Super Moderator

I have no experience with the new Colts, so I guess I'd take the dealers advice and wait to see them. You know what the Kimber is like!

Ohio Chl holder
NRA member
Old age isn't for sissy's
Old 03-10-2014, 10:36 PM  

I don't know. The Colts are nice, but don't really have the features I like. I would be getting a Colt just to say I have a Colt. I'm not really sure it's worth the extra money, or the wait.

Old 03-10-2014, 10:41 PM  
Super Moderator

Originally Posted by Gmountain View Post
I don't know. The Colts are nice, but don't really have the features I like. I would be getting a Colt just to say I have a Colt. I'm not really sure it's worth the extra money, or the wait.
OK then buy the Kimber!

Ohio Chl holder
NRA member
Old age isn't for sissy's
Old 03-10-2014, 11:04 PM  

Some people around here would just buy the Kimber and then, if you like the Colt, buy the Colt too.

Is my jealousy showing?

It's not that I have something to hide, ... I have nothing I want you to see.

(remember your 4th Amendment right, people)