3" ultra carry reliability? - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Kimber Model Specific > Kimber 1911 Forum

Like Tree9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2014, 01:04 PM   #1

3" ultra carry reliability?

I am new to this 1911 stuff since the last one I bought was over 15 years ago. My latest is a 3" Ultra Carry. I really like this gun. After about 300-400 rounds of 230 fmj I have had no failures to feed or eject. The slide always stays open after the last shot. As I have been researching ammo, grips, magazines etc regarding this gun I have run across a lot of internet chatter about how the 3" 1911 are inherently unreliable and that it is just a matter of time before they fail, or worse yet they just don't work well even new. Any comments or reports would be appreciated. In the end I am aware that it is ME that has to have confidence in the gun to fire 100%. Along the same lines if anyone could recomemend a HP factory load that works well I would appreciate it. Again I realize I have to run them through my gun but it would be nice to have a place to start.
twistedlim is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 10-15-2014, 01:27 PM   #2

Well, here we go again. Sometimes 3" barrel guns have issues, sometimes 5" barrel weapons have issues. I have three Ultra model Kimbers and one 3" barrel Detonics Combat Master. I have never had a failure with any of them. The Detonics probably has close to 10,000 rounds fired, not sure the exact number was not popular to count rounds back in the day.
Just like any other product...can you buy a bad pistol? Yes. Can Kimber repair it? Yes. Buy one try it, you can always sell it.
I think some people are using Hornady Critical Defense. I am using some Winchester Silver Tips.

Last edited by 2sharp2; 10-15-2014 at 01:33 PM.
2sharp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 01:33 PM   #3
Super Moderator