Raptor 2: Range report - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Kimber Model Specific > Kimber 1911 Forum

Like Tree18Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2014, 05:26 PM   #1

Raptor 2: Range report

Mostly good news with a little bit of bad for the Raptor's first range trip. I only had time for a quick one-hour session at a nearby indoor range. I fired about 150 rounds of Blazzer Brass, S&B, & Federal FMJ 230gr ammo. I brought along a few other 8-round magazines with me beside the one that came with the pistol: Stainless steel Colt, SS Mec Gar, SS Chip McCormick Power Mag, SS Kimber, and a black ARMSCOR.
Although I've been shooting recreationally for 20+ years, I'm no expert or even a crack shot but I do OK. I own two other 1911 pistols: A Rock Island Tactical and a Springfield Loaded in SS. I'm not one of those guys that can really tell tiny differences in one trigger to another but the trigger on the Raptor seemed fairly light and short in pull. Thats the good news. The bad news is although the reset was short, getting there was creeky and sticky in feel. I'm hoping more break-in time and some better lube might fix this.
I liked the scales machined into the front of the grip. Secure in feel without being abrasive. The grips felt good and the more I look at them the more likely I'll keep them (big fan of VZ grips!).
Now the bad news: At first the factory supplied black 8-round magazine would not work at all. The gun would jam every other shot. So I put it aside and tried out the other mags I brought that I knew worked fine in my other pistols. The Chip McCormick mag would not work at all: couldn't even get the first round to chamber from it. Also had some similar problems with the Mec Gar although not as much. The others worked fine.