New here with a few questions about the TLE ii - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Kimber Model Specific > Kimber 1911 Forum

Like Tree12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2018, 08:47 PM   #1

New here with a few questions about the TLE ii

I've been collecting for about thirty years now and have a rather eclectic assortment but have yet to add a 1911. My local gun shop got in a Custom TLE ii which was placed on consignment by an Arizona LEO. Seems to have a bit of honest wear, what the shop owner said was a magwell (S&A?) and short trigger (LEO was female) plus three Wilson mags. I checked with Kimber and they said it was manufactured 09/2003, so first commercial year from what I can gather. Finish has a bit of wear but not "rode hard" and sights are likely dead but I just shoot at the range so those are not a factor. Price is $550. I know I can get a new Kimber target at Cabelas for $750 but I kind of like the looks of this one. Just one of those things. Are the older TLE's any better, etc, than the current ones? I'm guessing this was a duty gun ( Arizona authorized them in a lot of localities), so it likely saw the armorer, although I can't be sure. Again, I'm not looking for a carry or self-defense gun, just an informal 1911 paper puncher to fill a niche. I simply like the looks of this one and am wondering if that vintage was good, bad or ugly? Shop owner says it's still tight and has miles left in the tank. (I've dealt with him regularly). Thanks in advance!
RedFeathet is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 04-11-2018, 09:49 PM   #2

$550? We better be seeing a pic of your TLE tomorrow!!
bluzman, swca, JC45 and 1 others like this.

Always be ready - 5.11
Hoffbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 10:24 PM   #3

TLE II is the latest.