Eclipse II Target Question - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Kimber Model Specific > Kimber 1911 Forum

Like Tree25Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2016, 11:54 AM   #1

Eclipse II Target Question

Hello eveybody,

My names Wolf, Im a 39 years old paramedic from northern Germany.

Im about to buy a 1911 to use as a backup when hunting and to have fun with on the range.
While I am pretty sure its going to be a Kimber Im still in the process of deciding which model its going to be.

While looking at all the different models I got confused a bit, as the Custom Eclipse II Target is listed as having a stainless steel barrel in the 2015 Kimber catalog, while on the website it just says "steel" as barrel material.

Id really appreciate it if you could clear the confusion for me, as there seems to be no email address on the Kimber website and calling in from Germany would probably be rather expensive. And I havent really spoken english in years...

Another question I couldnt find an answer to is whether the Eclipses mainspring housing is made of steel or synthetic material.

The last question is about the sights on the target model. As Ive never used the "bar-dot" kind of sights mounted on the pistol and the Eclipse variant with the fixed combat sights doesnt seem to be available here Id like to ask if you think the sights might be of any use for rather fast defensive style shooting in low light conditions.

As Ive already read that the finish on the Eclipse II probably prefers not to be carried around in a holster too much, as would be the case with with my use of the pistol its probably going to be a Stainless TLE II anyways, but I like the looks of the Eclipse II sooo much...

Thanks in advance for any answers,

Greetings,

Wolf
WolfK33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 01-17-2016, 01:19 PM   #2
Super Moderator