Travelling to TX - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Kimber Forum Discussions > Kimber Concealed Carry

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2015, 01:15 PM   #1

Travelling to TX

Question for TX residents:

I'll be traveling to Dallas & Austin next month & would like to take along my EDC. I have a CCW permit from CO.

Are there any laws specific to TX that I should be concerned about? I'll be flying into Dallas & then driving a rental car to Austin.

Mario Andretti
Chickadee is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 01-12-2015, 01:25 PM   #2

I have no knowledge of the TX requirements, but make sure to check with your airline regarding their requirements for checked firearms. Usually things like a hard lockable case, gun locked, no ammo in the mag, etc.
Jflytle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 01:52 PM   #3

Look for the 30.06 sign wherever you go. (That's the Texas code. The number is a coincidence. Yeah, we laugh at that.) Google it to see the exact verbiage, but basically it marks don't carry areas. Anybody can put one up. Some business like Carmike theater and places like zoos post it. There are rules on what it has to say and how it's posted, but I don't spilt hairs when I see it, if it's close. You can't carry past the sign.

I do ignore signs that just say"no guns" our have a picture of a gun crossed out.

Places that make more than 50% of their revenue from alcohol sales have to post a 51% sign signifying no carry.

If nobody else posts it, I'll list the areas that are off limits regardless of signage. Pretty standard, hospitals, nursing homes, churches, schools, scholastic events, professional sporting events, dog tracks. I can't remember them all off hand. Not places I typically go. Some of these places allow you to leave it in the car. More tonight.
LinckG is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2015, 02:23 PM   #4

Originally Posted by LinckG View Post