Guide rod problems - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Kimber Model Specific > Kimber Micro 9 Forum

Like Tree23Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2019, 04:34 PM  

Guide rod problems

I'm new to Kimber, and purchased the Micro 9 STG two weeks ago. Up until now I've always been a Ruger girl, but I was called by the siren song of better concealment. Anyways, I brought the Micro 9 home, field stripped it and cleaned it (without problem) and pulled it out today when my new holster arrived. As I put the magazine in, and put a bullet into the chamber I immediately noticed that the guide rod was protruding out past the barrel. Thinking I might have put it back together incorrectly, I stripped it down again, and followed the instruction manual and even a few YouTube videos. It's very simple to put together, and I had it right the first time.

I've been messing with my gun for a few hours now, and I can't figure out why the guide rod is sticking out. I've been through numerous guide rod problem posts and nothing has helped. I can't find anything glaringly wrong. Any ideas?
Cucamonga kid likes this.
Old 09-01-2019, 04:45 PM  

did you put it together like this?
Marshall and Cucamonga kid like this.
Old 09-01-2019, 04:48 PM  

before you attached slide was it sticking out?..should look as pictured
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4616.JPG (1.36 MB, 12 views)
Marshall likes this.

Last edited by Shootinit; 09-01-2019 at 10:53 PM.

Old 09-01-2019, 04:49 PM  

Unload your pistol and check the chamber if you can to make sure that is completely safe then, if you can, pull out the slide release. Now, with the slide fully forward pull the slide back about an eighth of an inch then insert the pin till it goes 1/2 way through the slide and then pull the slide back to the assembly notch and pop it in tightly.