Kimber Talk Forums banner

Micro v Ultra Carry

12K views 23 replies 13 participants last post by  YumaMike 
#1 ·
I'm interested in comparing some pros and cons of these models. If you have either a Micro .380, Micro 9, or Ultra Carry model, I would appreciate your input! I've been carrying a compact 9 mm Glock for about three years now and am ready for a change of pace. I am looking to carry this next gun in the pocket. Therefore, your opinions and experiences relating to pocket carrying are most appreciated.

Additionally, I'm interested in collecting some data regarding these hand guns. So if you have any of these models and a pair of dial calipers, please consider helping a fellow out. In addition to the particular model you have, I'm interested in the following measurements, which are not available from Kimber's website:

1. The length of the slide, from muzzle to back plate.

2. The width of the slide (but not including the safety lever).

3. The width of the grip, at its widest point.

4. The height of the rear sight.

Thank you!

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome to the forum from northern Illinois ninjamin7, how about stopping by our "New Member Introduction" sub forum and introducing yourself to the membership?

#3 ·
Welcome to the forum from GA. Well, I have all 3 of those pistols and before I go off to measure them, there may be someone else on here that already knows that information....so I'll wait a bit. The first thing that comes to my mind though is that the Ultra Carry is at least 10 ounces or more heavier than the 2 micro pistols. So really don't think you would want to carry that in your pocket, I wouldn't anyway. Guess it depends on your preferences and size and how much your pockets can hold! Other thing is the Ultra carries 8 rounds and the micros 7 rounds. The 2 micros seem much more manageable for pocket carry. I'll check in later, if no one has given you measurements, I will do my best to get them for you when I get home later.