Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By Chuck43
  • 2 Post By jkingrph
  • 1 Post By Timc
  • 1 Post By Timc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2016, 08:33 PM   #1

6.5 Creedmore for Elk?

Thinking about using my 6.5 Creedmore Kimber Hunter for my Idaho Bull Elk hunt next month. Minimum caliber for prior Elk hunts was 270 Win. Anybody successfully taken Bull Elk with a 6.5 caliber cartridge please chime in. Thank you.
KimberHntrBoise6.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 10-24-2016, 07:06 AM   #2
Super Moderator

I have no personal experience with the 6.5 Creedmore, the round didn't exist when I was elk hunting. I've taken 7 elk in my lifetime all one shot kills and found that a heavier bullet (180 gr. min.) works best. It's not unusual for a bull elk in rut to roll in a scrape and end up with a thick layer of mud on his body (think body armor). My primary elk gun is a Remington 700 BDL .338 win mag shooting a Nosler 210 gr. Spitzer partition bullet in front of 75 gr. of IMR 4831 giving me 2800 fps. My back up gun is a Remington 700 BDL .300 win mag shooting a Nosler 180 gr. Spitzer partition bullet pushed by 72 gr. of IMR 4831 for 3100 fps. These loads also work very well for moose.

I've just done a little reading on the 6.5 Creedmore, it was
designed by Hornady in 2007 specifically for target shooting. It's a medium power cartridge and is comparable to the .260 Remington.

Please don't misunderstand when I say that it wouldn't be my first choice for an elk gun. I hope you have a safe, enjoyable and successful hunt. Where are you hunting, I used to hunt the Teton Wilderness in Wyoming. I'd love to see some pictures or read a report of your hunt.
Nellybelle likes this.
Old 10-24-2016, 09:09 PM   #3

Chuck Check This Out!

I was going to say he needs "More Power" for Elk hunting in Idaho but I retract that thought when I found this article, now it don't "look" like a hunting rifle but I feel the story applies.