Breaking in a new one by a newbie - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Kimber Forum Discussions > Kimber Talk

Like Tree36Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2018, 07:02 AM   #1

Breaking in a new one by a newbie

Hello

Since I'm new to a Kimber handguns and 1911 platform there are few questions I would like to ask.
First of all after doing some reading about 1911s I decided to replace few original parts right out of the box. If I got something wrong please feel free to correct me.

I have already order a bunch of Wilson Combat magazines. For couple of reasons actually. Needed more than just one, WC mags supposed to be more reliable then Kimbers, have larger capacity and have pads at he bottom required for magwell use.

As mentioned above - magwell. Still undecided on that one. Trying to figure out if I should pick a one or two piece model. The only advantage of a two piece that I could think of is that it could be used obviously as a magwell or be taken apart and used as a mainspring housing only which in Pro Carry II needs to be replaced anyway. One piece magwell of course is more durable and stays in place. So right now it comes down to one piece Smith & Aleksander or two piece Kimber.

New magwell will probably require a new set of grips to eliminate the small space between magwell and stock grips. I like the G10 full size grips, Ergo grips, VZ and Harrison Design grips. All of them should be fine as they are designed form magwells. Right?

Recoil spring with new guide rod. The disassembly of a 1911 with a special tool or bent paper clip for me is unacceptable as I'm used to Glocks and CZ where no tools are required. Another reason for this modification is improvement of guns reliability. Once again my choice is a Wilson Combat part. WC 9mm 1911 Flat-Wire Recoil Spring Kit Compact/Professional #784.