Grip safety problems - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Kimber Forum Discussions > Kimber Talk

Like Tree28Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2019, 11:39 AM   #1

Question Grip safety problems

Hello guys,

At 66 years old I hate to sound like an idiot but I told you I'm brand new to 1911's and selling off my striker fired pistols to buy more 1911's.

Anyhow, I got my Aegis in yesterday and need help already. The trigger is nowhere as good as my PPQ 45 but that's not my problem, it's the grip safety. When I just grab it up and pull the trigger it won't fire because the web of my hand doesn't depress the grip safety all the way in. I have to adjust my hand to a non normal position for me and grip it very hard. This is 50% of the time.

What do you suggest? I don't know if they have a name or not but I've seen grip safety's that has a raised hump on them. Will this solve my problem and if so who can I get to put one on? Also I've read about pinning the grip safety down and I would need someone to do that also. I'd rather buy a new safety if it would fix it.

Thanks for any help or opinions you can share with me.

Jim D
SE Texas
Old 01-05-2019, 12:11 PM   #2

Kimber does sell a grip safety with the raised bump. You may find it cheaper somewhere else but here it is.

https://store.kimberamerica.com/grip-safety-2
JC45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 01:06 PM   #3

I had the same problem with my 45 about eight years ago and then I discovered I had very severe carpal tunnel syndrome and that large thumb muscle in my right hand had atrophied to the point where I could barely move my thumb in certain directions. After the surgery the muscle came back and I have no more problems. So my question to you is; do you have any numbness in your hand that may be related to carpal tunnel syndrome?
2sharp2 and Tejun like this.

Old 01-05-2019, 01:15 PM   #4

C-Kid,

Yes I do, a mild case.

Jim D
Old 01-05-2019, 01:33 PM   #5