• 1 Post By Wingnut
  • 1 Post By 2sharp2
  • 6 Post By Rick in Oregon
  • 1 Post By manndou
  • 1 Post By catman

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2020, 07:34 PM   #1

PLEASE HELP - Kimber Hunter 7mm-08 Accuracy Problems

I need some help. I have many years of experience (40+) with shooting, mounting scopes, hand loading, ladder tests, blahblahblah. I recently purchased a Kimber Hunter Boot Campaign in 7mm-08 and can't get the thing to group worth a crap! I called Kimber to ensure I am using correct torque on main screws, I correctly mounted and torqued my Talley one piece bases and scope screws. I married a Swarovski Z5 to this rifle, correctly broke the barrel in making sure not to overuse bore compound, checked all screws again, tried (3) different factory loads, and many powder/bullet combo's from IMR4064, Varget, Norma 203B, Sierra Game Kings, Noslers, blahblahblah. And STILL cannot get consistent groups better than 1.75 or maybe a lucky 1.5" group. No wind, cool temps, letting barrel cool between shots (3-5 minutes). I've probably sent close to 300 rounds down range. This damn rifle will not perform. Anyone else have this problem?? Any help is welcome.
manndou is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 03-12-2020, 06:29 AM   #2

Rick in Oregon should be along soon and give some good advise.
manndou likes this.
Wingnut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 08:03 AM   #3

I will wait for Rick in Oregon . . . I'm hoping he or some others can shed some light on this issue - BEFORE I ship the rifle back to Kimber. Thanks Wingnut!

Old 03-12-2020, 08:10 AM   #4

Have you pushed a bullet through?
Shootinit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 08:28 AM   #5

Welcome from NC; transplanted here from Lancaster 43 years ago. Sorry can't help with your rifle issue.
Old 03-12-2020, 09:46 AM   #6

I defer to the man Rick for rifle advise. He may be out in the desert on a shooting trip?

Welcome to the site from Tennessee.