Kimber history on my department. - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Kimber Forum Discussions > Kimber Talk

Like Tree47Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2020, 11:13 AM   #1

Kimber history on my department.

I just joined today and I already feel the need to post about the history of Kimber as it relates to my department. I'm sorry to be the "new" guy who rambles on but I'm close to retirement and I read a "Kimber History" post and thought someone might find this interesting or at least I could get it on record if anyone cared in the future. I am currently a detective on the Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department but before IMPD existed there was the Indianapolis Police Department and the Marion County Sheriff's Department here in Indiana. (MCSD still exists but no longer have patrol duties) I was on the Sheriff's department. Back in the early 2000's I was a full time Instructor at our Academy, a Firearms Instructor, and drove the armored vehicles for our SWAT team. The SWAT Commander at the time was a Viet Nam Vet who loved 1911's and wanted them for the SWAT team but nothing really happened until we got a new Deputy Chief, maybe Major at the time, over the training Training Academy. He also loved 1911's so the training academy reached out to a few vendors who sent us guns to T&E (test and evaluate). The company that fought the hardest was Kimber. We had Kimber rep's bringing or sending us guns all the time.