Evaluating Kimber Quality - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Kimber Forum Discussions > Kimber Talk

Like Tree30Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2016, 07:31 AM   #1

Evaluating Kimber Quality

I almost didn't post this "question", but decided the experts here are the best place to ask it. I am fairly new to Kimber, but have owned many revolvers and pistols over the decades and a few were 1911's. I even remember the USAF issued Colt 1911 I had the pleasure of holstering on occasion (it rattled like crazy and shot straight). I also know that Kimber has had its ups-and-downs over its history, but currently is known for producing some good 1911's at the higher end of the price range as compared to the competition.

OK...I am thinking about my next pistol purchase and wanted to explore the question of Kimber quality as it relates to price ranges for their pistols. For example, the base models in their line-up seem to have more problems (if one believes what we read on the forums and some mag's) than their higher line pistols, but that could just be my perception. Given the overall pricing of Kimbers, there certainly aren't any "cheap" pistols being offered in any model. Another example, my LGS who is a Master Kimber dealer rarely carries Kimber base models and frankly doesn't seem to recommend them. This happened to me when I purchased my Micro Carry 380 Raptor (I'm happy with that pistol BTW). Now to my friends here...in YOUR EXPERIENCE is there a Kimber 1911 model and model level (i.e. Ultra, Custom, Pro, Raptor) that seems to perform best out of the box? I know I'm asking a lot and it might be easier to assess which sibling you like best, but I trust you to give me your best recommendation...and apologies to your brothers and sisters.
OGCA - Life Member
Cybercycle is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 03-08-2016, 08:24 AM   #2
Super Moderator