Stones - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Off Topic Area > Knives

Like Tree42Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2019, 10:15 AM   #1

Stones

Since so many of us are venturing into the search for the ultimate edge, Which stones do you use and why?
I'm talk about hard, soft, diamond, Japanese water stones, or Ken's recommendations.
I've got 2 sets one is what I would call hard and the other is definitely softer and more porous. Both set are cheap chinese stones, as I learn what I'm doing I will upgrade.
I'm still experimenting as to which stone ones work best on which steels.

AMERICA WE HAVE A PROBLEM
wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 05-25-2019, 10:54 AM   #2

I think there's a knife guy on this forum lurking somewhere. He'll be along shortly to help you out.
Tejun likes this.
Old 05-25-2019, 12:19 PM   #3

I'm no expert, and I've not done much experimentation in regards to types of steel. I pretty much use the same stones on everything, because that's what I have.

My pile of rocks consists of no-name Chinese imports, an assortment of Edge Pros, a progression from Ken Schwartz that I'll list later, some diamond plates form ChefKnivesToGo, and a small assortment of CBN emulsion, diamond paste, and strops.

Right now, my goto progression is as follows:

150 grit diamond plate from ChefKnives
used only for hogging a lot of metal fast

400 Bamboo from K.S.
cuts fast and easy, leaves a pretty edge, doesn't wear quickly

1000 Gold from K.S.
fast, easy, doesn't wear fast

2000 Speckled Blue from K.S.
I really like this one.

5000 Bamboo from K.S.
This was my finest stone for a while, it cracked, but I still use it. Moderate wear.

8000 Speckled Ume from K.S.
Edges are getting nice at this point.

1 μ CBN on nanocloth from K.S.
This made me decide that all edges need to be stropped. Next level.

0.025 μ CBN on nanocloth from K.S.
Had to see what the next level would be like. Sharp is what it's like.