• 1 Post By Shootinit
  • 6 Post By Chuck43
  • 2 Post By The Tourist
  • 3 Post By RustyIron
  • 2 Post By The Tourist

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2019, 05:42 PM   #1

Metal & Rocks

No, this isn't about the latest Metallica album. It's my latest experiments with knives and stones.

First new toy is a drill stop for the Edge Pro, that allows more precise angle consistency when using different thicknesses of stones. Gotta tell ya, it makes a difference that's obvious along the whole edge when viewing it under magnification.

First up on the polishing block was the Spyderco Manix 2 in S110V that I've been carrying for a couple months. I've grown fond of the weirdness of the Spydercos, and I'm picky about locks. The Manix 2 sports a ball bearing lock. It's nice, but the spring is a little stiff. I'd like to change it, but the lightweight version is riveted together. I like the flat sides, the fit to my hand, and even the Spydie Hole.

I polished the Manix 2 into the sub-micron realm, and it really looked like a good job. But the fingertip test didn't excite me. After a day, I couldn't stand it. I went at it with an EdgePro 800 grit stone, and was still uninspired. Next was a 400 Bamboo from Ken Schwartz, and then I finished with 40 micron diamonds. The edge made me much happier, so I left it at that.

The other knife I've been playing with... or more accurately, which has been sitting on my desk, is the Spyderco Paramilitary 2. It doesn't fit my hand as perfectly as the Manix 2, but I love the compression lock. It's like an upside down liner lock, but with out the inherent weaknesses. This blade is S30V. Interestingly, I found this metal much quicker to cut, and easier to create a nice edge. I think the compression lock might make this knife into my favorite once I start carrying it.

For now, I'll keep carrying the Manix 2 because I don't want to beat up the PM2 just yet. For now it can sit on my desk looking all spiffy.
Attached Images