Joyce sends her thanks... - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Off Topic Area > Knives

Like Tree21Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2019, 01:57 PM   #1

Joyce sends her thanks...

As many of you know, my best supplier is Joyce, over at Horizon Bladeworks, 828-884-4302.

Now, as a knife salesman I often have to deal with vendors that carry a priority knife or a model Joyce does not stock. Truth be told, these vendors often send me knives with asymmetrical bevels, or the stuff arrives late, or I only get deals if I threaten to hang up.

Joyce would rather apologize and personally wrap your knives because that's what she considers is "a business." The first thing she told me today on the telephone was that she had filled some orders "for KimberTalk."

She thanks you, and I thank you. Each one of those knives is personally inspected and packed by her. And if you ever get a decorative scratch, she'll make it good--and you can take that to the bank without a care.

Now for the humorous part. Joyce's husband Nick and my wife don't understand how Joyce and I can sit on the telephone for an hour and talk 'knives.' We even trade knives. When the first Barges came out I sent her two of them, both polished--she packed orders with them.

Nick stopped her one day and asked why she was not using their own brand for doing the shipping and receiving. Joyce just told him, "Oh, Chico polished these for me, and they last longer than some of ours..."

She later laughed and told me that Nick asked her why a blade-head would give her knives, especially ones they do not sell. He had sighed, "He (Chico) does know we are a cutlery distributor, doesn't he?"

Oh, and finally, as I was wrapping up our call, I asked her to sell me a knife, a very pricey "Tuxedo Automatic 1.9 Inch Tanto." She was wrapping it as we parted company, and then she added, "I can do better on the price than listed..."