• 2 Post By Chuck43
  • 3 Post By nikonnut
  • 2 Post By RustyIron
  • 1 Post By nikonnut
  • 1 Post By Jflytle

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2019, 05:48 PM   #1

Big Diamonds

Since learning to sharpen early-on, my holy grail was finer and finer polishing. I found that I could get some sharp edges in the micron and sub-micron realm. And the mirrored finish looks really cool.

But recently I decided to take it in another direction. I wanted sharp knives with a coarser finish. I believe this is called a kirenaga edge. Since I've become accustomed to stropping, I bought some roo hide and some cheap Russian diamond paste from a company called Kent. The results were not very satisfying.

I started playing with the paste, which was 40 microns. I expected to be able to feel the abrasive in the paste, but was not able to do so. That seemed strange. And it wasn't leaving a microscopic abrasion pattern that I expected to see. My conclusion was that Kent abrasives are merely colored grease in a cup.

After a while, I ordered up some Venev diamond paste, also Russian, and also 40 micron. It arrived yesterday. The first thing I did was stick my finger in it and rub it between my fingers. I could feel abrasiveness. Then I rubbed the finger on the side of a stainless blade. Before long, the paste turned black and the stainless surface was more polished. Apparently not all Russians are crooks, only the ones at Kent.

Over the past couple weeks, I've been sharpening with coarser diamond plates. They cut quicker and the ones I'm using are cheap, at nine bucks apiece. What I found is that it's HARD to sharpen at a coarse grit AND remove the burr. Sometimes it takes a bit of flipping, and then holding the stone so that some of the weight is relieved. But with some care, I could get a very impressive edge.