Retired Cops do this...Hero911 - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Off Topic Area > Off-Topic Discussion Forum

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Mike240

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2018, 06:50 PM   #1

Retired Cops do this...Hero911

Several years ago when I first heard of this smartphone app I signed up. I had to be vetted that I was a cop. This applies to retirees too.
Check it out here with a video of how it works.

School Shootings Law Enforcement App | Hero911 Network

My location services (GPS) on my phone is only turned on for this one app. I get notifications of these school shootings from across the country as they go to 911 centers.

If I am within either 5 or 15 miles of the school when the teacher hits the panic button, I get notified along with a map of the school and her/his location based on the GPS location of the teacher's phone.

This is to speed up a response of qualified persons on or off duty and retired to these incidents. I always have a AR, pistol and a few mags for each in my vehicles along with an old "POLICE" marked traffic control vest....I will respond. Will you?

Do your local schools participate? Do your teacher friends know of it? Hell, my agency's SROs had never heard of it till I told them.
cousinmark and RugerLuger like this.
Old 02-24-2018, 07:15 PM   #2

Hopefully this program will expand to allow a presence on the grounds before there's a problem. The concealed option is better than nothing but a visible alternative would be more effective IMO. Like I mentioned in an earlier post paying qualified ex law or military a legitimate wage for there time SHOULD be part of the equation as well. Just a thought...
cousinmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2018, 07:24 PM   #3