HVAC Costs - Kimber Forum

Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Off Topic Area > Off-Topic Discussion Forum

Like Tree12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2016, 10:37 AM   #1

HVAC Costs

My main source of heat the past several years has been baseboard and a free-standing NG stove in the basement. The stove is kaput and so I plan on putting in a mini-split heat pump AC/Heating system. A good quality system capable of handling sub-zero temps runs about 3k for equipment.

I have a dedicated 220 circuit sitting there unused. The air handlers will mount on the wall with the attached garage on the opposite side, so running the drain and freon lines is super-simple. I'm no pro but I do have some experience. I would rather get a professional install since I no longer own the equipment needed and I have too many other projects. Not to mention, I don't have any experience with these particular systems - only ginormous military A/C units.

But....I'm getting estimates running between 7k and 14k. There's no way I'm paying anyone $4,000 to $10,000 (that one is just plain silly) for someone to come in and do 4 hours worth of work!!!

I guess I'm just venting here. I'll buy and install the equipment myself (for me - estimating a full day) then pay someone to come in and do the initial service.

Need to do more shooting and less home projects. I guess if I mess it up really bad, I can shoot my home projects.
cousinmark and Pops6116 like this.

You can tell alot about a fellow's character by his way of eating jellybeans. - Ronald Reagan
Spotly is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 05-16-2016, 10:59 AM   #2

I had HVAC installed in my house in 2008 when I bought a for clusure and someone actually stole the furnace and heat pump just left copper lines hanging. Check into rebates for installing High efficiency equipment. I received a cash rebate and also a rebate on the install all told it cost me about $4,000.00 reduced from $7,000.00 also tax deductable.