Kimber

Go Back   Kimber Forum > Off Topic Area > Other Firearms

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Spotly

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2016, 12:11 PM   #1
Banned

Glass Bedding a rifle stock

After sighting in the Winchester M70 the other day and while wiping it down I noticed the slightest give in the stock. I removed the stock and inspected it all, tightened the barrel&receiver as tight as I could, and it still seems a bit loose. Hmmmmm....

Thinking of doing a bedding job on it. I watch the Potter/Midway video, and saw Larry do a sloppy of job of it, and it looks like something I can do, and better. Anybody have any experience with this? Supposedly it is a part of accurizing a long gun. It is probably far after learning to shoot, optimization thru reloading of ammo, etc. So I don't expect to see an improvement, since I'm still learning to shoot, and if the ammo goes bang I'm happy, but I got time to spare.
montanaResident is offline   Reply With Quote
Remove Ads
Old 05-24-2016, 01:32 PM   #2

I haven't done it myself but I did have my 700 mountain rifle's action bedded and the barrel floated. I've read free-floating a thinner barrel "could" reduce accuracy due to flex with each shot but the accuracy of mine continues to be as accurate as before having the work done. More important for me, it holds zero through some nasty weather during elk season.
montanaResident likes this.

You can tell alot about a fellow's character by his way of eating jellybeans. - Ronald Reagan
Spotly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2016, 02:04 PM   #3

Send a message via AIM to loadedround
Goggle ''glass bedding a rifle stock' 'online. You will find numerous ''how to do it'' articles and video's from the experts. Then buy a glass bedding kit from Brownell's and do it.
loadedround is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-24-2016, 02:45 PM   #4

Brownells also has some good online instructions. They do pillar bedding.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

John, aka BHunted