Kimber Talk Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I field stripped my Kimber Custom II and cleaned and oiled it up.
When I started to put it back together, things got a little dicey. I proceeded on and now stopped because I can't get the slide stop back into the slide hole. There seems to be a small retractable pin as a part of the the thumb safety that i can't get it to retract to allow the slide stop to put in correctly.
I have been watching a video. But the camera angle doesn't allow me to analyze what exactly was done to accomplish this.
Any help would be appreciated!

·
Registered
2,354 Posts
Is the safety on?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The little pin is sticking out as I said in my post. So it sounds like the thumb safety is on.
Let me add that I pushed the thumb safety up and down and nothing happened.
Please keep in mind that this is my first 1911 and I am still learning as I write rhis.

·
Registered
170 Posts
I am wondering if you are talking about the pin that blocks the where the slide stop fits into the slide. Is it the kind of rounded hole that the kind of weird looking end with a notch in it? if so then put the notch right below the pin push up and in. Sometimes it can be a bugger. To keep fron scratching the slide some put a piece of paper on the slide. Be careful not to block the whole. The pin is not part of the safety.

·
Registered
2,236 Posts
Make sure you have the slide stop pin installed correctly and have picked up the barrel link when you installed it. You have to push in past the pin. That’s a detent pin that keeps the slide stop from backing out on the other end is the detent for the thumb safety

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,098 Posts
1. slip a business card or tape or something between the slide stop and the frame to prevent scratches. (known as idiot marks)
2. Install the slide stop starting just below the detent and rotate it up and in.