Kimber Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m new to the Kimber Micro 9 and I don’t harbor illusions I’m a fabulous marksman but I do consider myself proficient. I now have about 750 rounds though this new pistol. I am consistently low on the target - maybe 4-6” at 21’.

On my new member intro thread, I mentioned this and one friendly member suggested it could be recoil anticipation. I won’t entirely rule that out and at the same time, I can say I’ve have fired thousands of 9mm and .380 rounds from light pocket pistols and kind of consider myself past that (at least I think).

I have TruGlo TFX pro D/N sights and think I like them but even going beyond a typical combat sight picture, I’m still PoI well below PoA. I can get on target by adjusting my PoA above the target and can get acceptable groupings but it just feels wrong to aim like this.

Anyone else experience this? Again, I’m not saying it’s the gun or the sights. I could just be me. I’d like to make this my edc but I’ve got to be comfortable before making the switch.

·
Registered
1,570 Posts
To rule out recoil anticipation have a shooting buddy load your mag and insert a dummy round somewhere. Then have him film you while shooting. Even if you consciously know that dummy round is in there, your sub conscious doesn't. If you're dipping it'll show up on the video.

What's your sight picture? Is the center of target on top of the front sight or behind it?

·
Registered
15,307 Posts
I think your issue has been a pretty common trait of the Micro9 lineup and has been documented as such in these pages. I have a trigger chart but have been told it is out of date...so 1970's. But I don't give a chit what they think.
Photograph Black Font Line Auto part

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I put a lot of rounds through all my guns. It’s a hobby 😀 I always put at least 500 through them before I carry them.